A 100% electric
autonomous shuttle

on public roads
Keolis Canada and the City of Candiac, supported by the Québec Government via the Ministry of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification, and in collaboration with Propulsion Québec, the Cluster for Electric and Smart Transportation and the Technopôle IVÉO have set up a pilot project of a 100% electric autonomous shuttle on public roads, a first in Canada.

Financial assistance of $350,000 was made available by the Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (MESI) through the Innovation Program to support demonstration projects provided for in the Action Plan for the Ground Transport Industry and Sustainable Mobility.

The shuttle, which coexists with regular traffic, complements public transit that is currently available and allows Candiac citizens and workers to reach their destinations more easily.

This project was developed in collaboration with the manufacturer NAVYA, the Technopôle IVÉO and Propulsion Québec, the Cluster for Electric and Smart Transportation. The project was made possible through the financial support of the Québec Government and has been duly analyzed by the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) and the Ministry of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification.

Leading the way in public transport, the Keolis Group develops customized mobility solutions adapted to the changing needs of passengers and to the requirements of the communities it serves. Keolis is a major player in the public transportation of passengers in Europe and around the world. Today, over 3 billion passengers worldwide have used one of the shared mobility services offered by Keolis.

Division of the Keolis Group, Keolis Canada specializes in light rail, intercity, urban, school, accessible, airport and charter transportation services. Keolis offers safe and reliable high-quality service thanks to a team of over 976 experienced employees. Keolis operates a fleet of 428 vehicles in Canada, of which 14 Light Rail Vehicles with the future operations of Keolis Grand River, Ontario. Every year, Keolis transports almost 10 million passengers and over 1 million packages in Canada.

The manufacturer NAVYA designs, produces and markets autonomous, driverless, electric vehicles that combine the highest level of robotic, digital and automotive technologies. NAVYA has a range of two autonomous vehicles: the AUTONOM® SHUTTLE, launched in September 2015, of which more than 100 have already been produced as of today and 89 sold in 17 countries and the AUTONOM® CAB, unveiled in November 2017 and whose first road tests will start shortly.
Route
The shuttle is operated in Candiac along a 2 km route between the exo park-and-ride lot and the bus terminal and the intersection of Marie-Victorin and Montcalm North Boulevards near the Parc André-J.-Côté. The shuttle makes several stops along the way, as shown on the map. It autonomously crosses the intersection of Marie-Victorin et Montcalm North Boulevards, thanks to smart traffic lights connected to the shuttle.
Schedule
Since October 4th 2018, the autonomous shuttle experimentation is carried out on open road shared with regular traffic in Candiac and is open to the general public for free.

The demonstration will resume on Wednesday, May 15th for the summer season.

This schedule is subject to change and is updated regularly on this website.

  • Week of May, 15th 2019

Wednesday, May 15th: 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Thursday 16th, Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Week of May, 20th 2019

Monday, May 20th: no service

Tuesday, May 21st: 10 a.m. to noon.

Wednesday, May 22nd: 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Thursday 23th, Friday 24th, Saturday 25th and Sunday 26th: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Week of May, 27th 2019

Monday, May 27th and Tuesday, 28th: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesday, May 29th: 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Thursday, May 30th and Friday 31st, Saturday, June 1st and Sunday 2nd: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Week of June, 3rd 2019

Monday, June 3rd and Tuesday, 4th: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesday, June 5th: 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Thursday, June 6th, Friday 7th, Saturday, 8th and Sunday 9th: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Week of June, 10th 2019

Monday, June 10th and Tuesday, 11th: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesday, June 12th: 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Thursday, June 13th, Friday 14th, Saturday, 15th and Sunday 16th: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This schedule will be updated regularly on this website for the following weeks.

FAQ
It is Keolis Canada’s first long-term demonstration project of an autonomous 100% electric shuttle on public roads in Canada.

With a capacity of 15 passengers and operating at a maximum speed of 25 km/hr, the NAVYA autonomous electric shuttle facilitates travel and promotes the use of public transit in underserved areas.

The shuttle, which is operated in mixed traffic, complements Candiac’s current public transportation services and allows citizens and workers to reach their destinations more easily, specifically by facilitating access to the exo park-and-ride lot and the bus terminal as well as the Parc André-J.-Côté.

The pilot project was launched for the general public on October, 4th 2018 for a period of 12 months, including 8 months of service for citizens. A research and development project is taking place during the winter months without passengers on board to assess how well the shuttle adapts to Québec cold weather conditions.
We prepared for the operation of the autonomous shuttle until September. During this period, we mapped the autonomous shuttle’s route, conducted technical tests and train the operators. We conducted trial runs on the shuttle’s route including tests in real conditions without passengers on board for two weeks, starting September 17th, at the request of the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and of the Ministry of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification.

The launch of operations for the general public was on Thursday, October 4th from 10 am to 1 pm.

The shuttle is operated at a maximum speed of 25 km/hr, adjusting its pace to its environment. As an example, if the shuttle is following a bicycle, it will reduce its speed to adapt to the pace of the bicycle in front of it, so it can avoid having to brake suddenly, ensuring a comfortable and safe ride for passengers.
Access to the autonomous shuttle is free for all passengers as part of the pilot project.
The autonomous shuttle has been used successfully in winter conditions in Michigan. However, in case of heavy snowfall, of snow piled up on the roads or of temperature below -10 Celsius degrees, the autonomous shuttle does not operate.

To ensure that the shuttle adapts to Québec cold weather conditions, a research and development project without passengers on board will be conducted in 2019.

The manufacturer, NAVYA, designs and produces state-of-the-art vehicles to ensure safe passenger travel. NAVYA has tested its vehicles in multiple environments. NAVYA has been involved in more than 25 projects in 17 countries. Keolis operates 17 autonomous shuttles and has safely transported more than 130,000 passengers worldwide since 2016. To ensure the safety and comfort of passengers and optimal support for this new mode of transportation, Keolis Canada will provide an operator on board the autonomous shuttle for the duration of the pilot project.

The autonomous shuttle is programmed and follows a designated route. It is equipped with the latest generation of sensors capable of communicating with each other to enable it to fully understand its environment. Thus, the shuttle is able to manage its route and make a series of decisions on its own.

An access ramp is available on the NAVYA AUTONOM SHUTTLE. However, the autonomous shuttle is not equipped with anchor points and straps to fasten a wheelchair, required by the Québec legislation. Consequently, wheelchairs cannot board the shuttle during the experimentation.
Passengers’ safety is a main priority at Keolis Canada.

Consequently, for operational safety reasons, bikes will not be accepted on board. Strollers will be accepted only if they are properly folded. Finally, only service dogs for disabled people and pets held in small locked cages or closed travel bags will be accepted on board.

The shuttle complements current transportation services in areas that are underserved by conventional public transit.
Are you interested to take part in a innovative pilot project for shared and connected mobility?

We are looking for Autonomous Shuttle Operators who are passionate about new technology and public service, as offered by the autonomous shuttle in Candiac.

Build your career in mobility with Keolis Canada, send your resume to [email protected]

Contact
For questions about the Candiac project:
[email protected]
For questions about the Keolis autonomous shuttle: [email protected]

Projet de navette
autonome 100% électrique
sur voie publique
Keolis Canada et la Ville de Candiac, supportés par le gouvernement du Québec via le Ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de l’Électrification des transports et en partenariat avec Propulsion Québec, la grappe des transports électriques et intelligents et le Technopôle IVÉO, ont mis en place un projet-pilote de navette autonome 100% électrique sur voie publique, une première au Canada.

Une aide financière de 350 000 $ a été octroyée par le Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (MESI) par l’entremise du programme Innovation dans le cadre de la mesure de soutien aux projets de démonstration prévue dans le Plan d’action pour l’industrie du transport terrestre et de la mobilité durable.

La navette, qui cohabite avec la circulation habituelle, vient compléter l’offre de transport collectif actuelle et permet aux citoyens et travailleurs du secteur desservi par la navette d’atteindre plus facilement leur destination finale.

La réalisation de ce projet a été développée en collaboration avec le constructeur NAVYA, le Technopôle IVÉO et Propulsion Québec, la grappe des transports électriques et intelligents. Le projet est devenu possible grâce au support financier du gouvernement du Québec et a été dûment analysé par la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) et le ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de l’Électrification des transports.

Le Groupe Keolis développe des solutions de mobilité sur mesure, adaptées aux évolutions des déplacements des voyageurs et aux attentes des collectivités. Chef de file en transport urbain en France, le Groupe Keolis est un acteur majeur du transport public de voyageurs en Europe et dans le monde. Aujourd’hui, plus de 3 milliards de voyageurs ont utilisé l’un des services de mobilité partagée proposés par Keolis.

Filiale du Groupe, Keolis Canada se spécialise dans le transport de personnes qu’il s’agisse de transport interurbain, urbain, scolaire, adapté, aéroportuaire, nolisé, ou de train léger. Keolis Canada offre un service de qualité, fiable et sécuritaire grâce à son équipe de plus de 976 employés chevronnés. Keolis Canada exploite un parc de 428 véhicules au Canada dont 14 rames de train léger avec la mise en place future des opérations de Keolis Grand River en Ontario. Chaque année, Keolis Canada transporte près de 10 million de passagers et plus de 1 million de colis.

Le constructeur NAVYA conçoit, fabrique et commercialise une gamme de véhicules autonomes et électriques, qui combinent au plus haut niveau les technologies robotiques, numériques et automobiles. NAVYA propose une gamme de deux véhicules autonomes : la navette AUTONOM® SHUTTLE, lancée en septembre 2015, dont plus de 100 exemplaires ont déjà été produits à ce jour et 89 commercialisés dans 17 pays au 30 juin 2018, ainsi que l’AUTONOM® CAB, dévoilé en novembre 2017 et dont les premiers essais sur route commenceront sous peu.
Tracé
La navette circule à Candiac sur un parcours de 2 km entre le stationnement incitatif et le terminus d’autobus d’exo et l’intersection des boulevards Marie-Victorin et Montcalm Nord, à proximité du parc André-J.-Côté. La navette effectue plusieurs arrêts sur son passage, tels que présentés sur la carte. Elle franchit l’intersection des boulevards Marie-Victorin et Montcalm Nord en complète autonomie, grâce aux feux de signalisation intelligents et connectés à la navette.
Horaire
À partir du 4 octobre 2018, l’expérimentation de la navette autonome s’effectue sur voie ouverte à la circulation à Candiac et est accessible gratuitement au grand public.

Les horaires sont soumis à modification et sont mis régulièrement à jour sur ce site internet.

  • Semaine du 23 septembre 2019

Lundi 23 septembre : la navette sera en service de 8h à 10h30.

Mardi 24 septembre : la navette sera en service de 8h à 12h.

Mercredi 25 septembre : pas de service

Jeudi 26 septembre : la navette sera en service de 10h à 16h.

Vendredi 27 septembre : la navette sera en service de 8h30 à 12h.

  • Semaine du 30 septembre 2019

Lundi 30 septembre : la navette sera en service de 10h à 12h.

Reprise du service prochainement – les horaires seront mis à jour.

Les horaires sont soumis à modification et sont mis régulièrement à jour sur ce site internet.

Emplois
Vous êtes à la recherche d’un emploi? Nous embauchons des opérateurs et opératrices pour la navette autonome.
FAQ
Il s’agit du premier projet de démonstration longue durée de navette autonome 100% électrique sur voie publique en sol canadien, mis en place par Keolis Canada.

Avec une capacité de 15 passagers et roulant à une vitesse d’exploitation maximale de 25km/h, la navette autonome électrique NAVYA facilite les déplacements et favorise ainsi l’utilisation du transport collectif dans des zones peu desservies.

La navette, qui cohabite avec la circulation habituelle, vient compléter l’offre de transport collectif actuelle et permettra aux citoyens et travailleurs de Candiac d’atteindre plus facilement leur destination finale, en facilitant notamment l’accès au stationnement incitatif d’exo, au terminus d’autobus et au parc André-J.-Côté.

Le projet-pilote a été lancé pour le grand public le 4 octobre 2018 pour une période de 12 mois, dont 8 mois au service des citoyens. Pendant la période hivernale, un projet de recherche et développement sur la capacité de la navette à s’adapter aux hivers québécois a lieu sans passager à bord.
La mise en place de la navette autonome s’est effectuée en septembre. Pendant cette période, la cartographie du parcours de la navette, les essais techniques et la formation des opérateurs ont été effectués. Nous avons effectué une marche à blanc comprenant une série de tests en réel sur le circuit et sans passager, à partir du 17 septembre, à la demande de la Société de l’Assurance Automobile du Québec et du Ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité Durable et de l’Électrification des transports.

L’ouverture grand public du service de la navette s’est déroulée le jeudi 4 octobre de 10h à 13h.

La navette circule à une vitesse maximale de 25km/h en ajustant sa cadence à son environnement. Par exemple, si la navette autonome suit un cycliste, elle diminue son allure en s’adaptant à la vitesse du vélo devant elle pour ne pas à avoir à freiner brusquement, assurant ainsi un trajet confortable et sécuritaire pour les passagers.
L’accès à la navette autonome est gratuit dans le cadre de ce projet-pilote.
La navette autonome a été utilisée avec succès en conditions hivernales au Michigan. Néanmoins, en cas de fortes précipitations, de neige accumulée sur son parcours ou de températures inférieures à -10 degrés Celsius, la navette autonome ne circule pas.

Afin de s’assurer que la navette s’adapte aux conditions hivernales du Québec, un projet de recherche et développement a été amorcé en 2019.

Le constructeur NAVYA conçoit et fabrique des véhicules à la pointe de la technologie afin d’assurer des déplacements sécuritaires pour les passagers. NAVYA a testé ses véhicules dans de multiples environnements, avec à son actif plus de 25 projets dans 17 pays. Keolis opère 17 navettes autonomes et a transporté plus de 130 000 passagers en toute sécurité dans le monde depuis 2016. Afin d’assurer la sécurité, le confort et un accompagnement optimal à ce nouveau mode de transport, Keolis Canada met à disposition un opérateur à bord de la navette autonome pendant toute la durée du projet-pilote.

La navette autonome est programmée et suit un tracé désigné. Elle est équipée de la dernière génération de capteurs capables de communiquer entre eux pour lui permettre de bien comprendre son environnement. La navette est ainsi habilitée à gérer son parcours et à prendre une série de décisions de façon autonome.

Une rampe d’accès manuelle est disponible dans les NAVYA Autonom Shuttle. En revanche, la navette autonome n’est pas dotée d’ancrage et de sangles pour fixer un fauteuil roulant, conformément à la législation québécoise. Par conséquent, les fauteuils roulants ne pourront pas embarquer à bord de la navette durant l’expérimentation.
La sécurité des passagers est la priorité de Keolis Canada.

Ainsi, pour des raisons de sécurité d’exploitation, les vélos ne seront pas acceptés. Les poussettes seront acceptées uniquement repliées. Enfin, uniquement les chiens d’accompagnement des personnes en situation de handicap et les animaux placés dans des petites cages ou des sacs de transport fermés seront acceptés à bord.

Les navettes sont un complément de l’offre de service de transport actuelle dans des secteurs peu desservis par le transport collectif usuel.
Vous êtes intéressé(e) à participer à un projet-pilote innovant de mobilité partagée et connectée? Nous recherchons des opérateur(ice)s passionnés par les technologies innovantes et le service public qu’offre la navette autonome électrique à Candiac.

Construisez votre carrière en mobilité avec Keolis Canada, envoyez votre CV à [email protected]

Contact
Pour des questions sur le projet à Candiac : [email protected]
Pour des questions sur la navette autonome de Keolis : [email protected]